Rave Culture Is Alive And Well In The Valley Of The Sun

A Music Festival Blog

I’ll admit, I’m not a huge raver. You won’t catch me wearing kandi or cutting shapes, though I wish I knew how. So it was cool to be immersed in that culture for a few days in a culture that was new to me, in Arizona at Phoenix Lights. I was at Margaret T. Hance Park a few weekends before for McDowell Mountain Music Festival, but this was a whole new experience. Say goodbye to your family fun zone and daytime clown shows. Phoenix Lights was all about the music.

Pumping a solid 8 hours of heavy electronic music from two stages, the festival attracted your average 20-30 something festival crowd. I noticed these guys were different though. They had experience. They planned their outfits, coordinated with their “fam” and created totem poles. I noticed the community while immersed in this rave culture. People were generally friendly, helpful, and…

View original post 405 more words

Leave a Reply

